## ARKANSAS RIVER COMPACT ADMINISTRATION

Lamar, Colorado 81052

For Colorado Dan McAuliffe (Acting), Denver Colin Thompson, Holly Matt Heimerich, Olney Springs Chairman and Federal Representative Robin Jennison, Healy, Kansas For Kansas David Barfield, Topeka Randy Hayzlett, Lakin David A. Brenn, Garden City

## RESOLUTION 2007-01 ARKANSAS RIVER COMPACT ADMINISTRATION Honoring Mr. Rod Kuharich

WHEREAS, Rod Kuharich, as Director of the Colorado Water Conservation Board, represented the State of Colorado on the Arkansas River Compact Administration from 2000 until his retirement from state service in June 2007; and

WHEREAS, Rod spent the majority of his career working in and for the Arkansas Valley of Colorado, advocating for the wise use of the Valley's water resources; and

WHEREAS, Rod Kuharich's knowledge of water policies and requirements have been valued and relied upon by the Administration; and

WHEREAS, Rod Kuharich provided dedicated, informed service to the Administration with courtesy and a desire to promote interstate cooperation; and

WHEREAS, the success of the Administration is of vital importance to water users throughout the Basin and Rod strove to make it an effective organization; and

WHEREAS, Rod recognized the importance of the natural environment and the recreation resources of the Basin, in particular the protection of the permanent pool at John Martin Reservoir.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** by the Arkansas River Compact Administration that it does hereby express its sincerest gratitude and appreciation to Mr. Rod Kuharich for his service, dedication, and courtesy to this Administration.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that the Administration honor Rod by including this Resolution, his picture, and appropriate dedicatory remarks in the Administration's Annual Report for Compact Year 2007, and instructs the Recording Secretary to send a copy of the Resolution, and its fond wishes for a fulfilling retirement to Rod.

ENTERED this 11th day of December, 2007, at the Annual Meeting of the Arkansas River Compact Administration held in Lamar, Colorado.

Robin Jennison, Chairman Arkansas River Compact Administration

Stephanie Gonzales, Recording Secretary Arkansas River Compact Administration